Gonna drive around and scream some more

I posted the other day about wanting to have fun with rock ‘n’ roll again, and I ended my post by saying (rather cryptically) that I had a mix-tape to listen to. Basically, it’s songs that I enjoy screaming along to in the car; not necessarily my favorite songs, but songs that are good for drive-screams. Here’s the contents of it, with links to mp3s where I could find them.

1. Sleater-Kinney, “The Fox

2. …And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead, “A Perfect Teenhood”

3. At the Drive-In, “One-Armed Scissor”

4. The Clash, “Rudie Can’t Fail”

5. The Dismemberment Plan, “Gyroscope” (Sorry about how weird the video is here; I couldn’t find it on iMeem)

6. mewithoutYou, “January 1979”

7. Modest Mouse, “Never-ending Math Equation”

8. Neutral Milk Hotel, “Holland 1945”

9. Outkast, “Bombs Over Baghdad (BOB)”

10. Peter, Bjorn, and John, “Objects of My Affection”

11. Pixies, “Bone Machine”

12. Refused, “New Noise”

13. The Strokes, “New York City Cops”

14. Ted Leo/Rx, “The Ballad of the Sin-Eater” (This one may be my favorite on the list)

15. Terror of the Sea, “Awful Eyes (You’ve Got Something)

click here to download

16. TV on the Radio, “Satellite”

17. The Walkmen, “The Rat” (As far as singing in cars goes, this is my favorite song; I also think it’s the second best pop song of the decade, behind “Hey Ya.”)

Leave a Reply

